Osiern’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Manovich Response

Posted by osiern on September 7, 2008

I’m grateful to have read this article at the beginning of the semester.  This summer when asked by friends, family, and co-workers what class I was taking this fallI would explain that I was taking a technology and research course that was part of the History and New Media program at GMU.  The immediate question that would follow was; what is new media?  I had no idea, of course this spoke well for my education.  To finally understand the definition of new media is very helpful for my future explanations of this course.

Manovich’s explanation of new media and his historical narrative of its development was both clear and interesting.  I, like many other individuals in my generation, take the use of computer technology and new media in general for granted.  I was reading his dicussion of Jurassic Park thinking; well don’t all movies do that?  The fact that movies don’t aquardly cut from one scene to another is something I never think about.  I also never think about how computers are used in my life for both work and play.  This was a development that happened either before my lifetime or before I began to use a computer.  By the time I was in elementary school we used computers both at school for lesson and we had one at home for recreational purposes. 

I especially enjoyed Manovich’s discussion of how the “behind the scenes” software of the computer has had an effect on culture.  I do expect things to be organized in real life as they are in my computer, and that is in fact the way I organize hard documents in my office. This organization was not something I was told to do, but as someone who has used computers my whole life the organization naturally makes sense.

 At the very end of his book Manovich states, “To use a metaphor from computer culture, new media turns all culture and cultural theory into “open source.” (278)  I believe that at this point he is discussing the “new frontier” for discovery.  However, I think that he could also be discussing the idea of what my generation and most likely future generations will feel; a sense of openness, of choice, and alternate possibilities.  New Media, especially computers that we have been exposed to throughout our lives, provide us with various choices and opportunites.  We have not been forced to take one linear path through media.  This inturn has lead many in my generation to take more creative paths in life and look for mutliple routes.

One Response to “Manovich Response”

  1. mhardin1 said

    This comment of yours is pretty interesting:

    “I do expect things to be organized in real life as they are in my computer, and that is in fact the way I organize hard documents in my office. This organization was not something I was told to do, but as someone who has used computers my whole life the organization naturally makes sense.”

    I think the degree to which computers have affected us is still being realized.

Leave a Reply

 
