Osiern’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Copyright concerns with my final project

Posted by osiern on October 20, 2008

At this point my concerns are minimal.  Fortunately I will be developing this tool for the organization I work for, so a good amount of the material I will be using is already owned by my organization and safe to use.

The other materials I will be using are so old they are no longer under copyright.  This is a major advantage of using primary sources from 1861-1865.  I will also be using government developed material from the National Park Service, which is also in the public domain.

An area of concern is the music recordings I will be using, however my organization has a good relationship with individuals who record period music, and so therefore, I could just ask for permission.

This is much easier to work on through work, which is full of resources, rather than as an individual.

Leave a Reply

 
