Osiern’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

To wayside or not to wayside?

Posted by osiern on November 20, 2008

Alright I’m trying to come up with other terms for wayside so here’s what I have so far:

sign, sign post, marker, trail marker, stop, trail stop….hmmmm

I want a word that is not too general that it might be mistaken for something else, but at the same time people will understand/know what it means. 

Suggestions Wanted!!!

5 Responses to “To wayside or not to wayside?”

  1. Andrea said

    I like trail marker. Maybe tour marker would work? I know that is not exactly what they are but…

  2. Hillary said

    Agreed, I like trail marker best, too. I think it’s the most universally understood term for what you’re referring to. At least to me, there’s no confusion whatsoever with that term. And the tour is taking them on a trail of sorts…

  3. I think what you call the wayside depends on the purpose of the stop. If the stop gives information, then “information marker” may be appropriate. If the stop gives a different perspective on the battle, then something like “battle view” may be more appropriate.

    Curtis

  4. populariscultura said

    Yeah- Marker does work well, at least for me. Good choice!

  5. smdeane said

    I too agree with “trail marker.”

    When it comes to your tool, I think it is a great idea because it is both interactive (engaging) and educational. It makes for a great combination, especially since we live in a world so tied to entertainment and technology…I think it will draw in an audience that doesn’t normally “get into” history. I know I would like to try it out as soon as you have it up and running.

    Overall, I like your choice of photos, format, and ease of navigation – it’s straightforward. For the life of me I can’t remember one of the comments in class (because I did not make it), but it had to do with some information overlooked as you move from page to page. Hopefully, that person will leave a comment…sorry, I can’t be more specific.

    I look forward to using it in the near future!

Leave a Reply

 
